The third serbian orthodox monastery we visted on our trip through Croatia is hidden in a National Park and is called: Monastery Krka. In the same area we visted also Monastery Gomirje (here the post) and Monastery Krupa (here the post).
It takes a nice off-road ride to reach from where you have stunning view to the landscape.
The Krka National Park is adorned with seven picturesque travertine falls created by the passage of the Krka River through the limestone foundation whereby the process of travertine creation evolves.
Ten species of endemic fish have been found in the river and due to spring and autumn migrations of birds this area is among the ornithologically significant regions of Europe. Also in the Park are the remains of an ancient water supply system, the Burnum military camp and a medieval old Croatian fortifications from the 14th century. While among the sacral structures the most valuable are the Franciscan monastery, the Church of the Lady of Mercy on the islet of Visovac and the St. Archangel’s Monastery also called Monastery Krka.
Monastery Krka is situated at the broad, calm part of the river Krka, it was erected on the foundation of an older hermit monastery and was founded in the 14th century and is dedicated to St. Archangel Michael.
In 1345, this monastery was mentioned for the first time as the endowment of princess Jelena Subic, the wife of prince of Skradin and Bribir.
Under the main monastery church, there are old Roman catacombs, which represent significant evidence that St. Apostle Paul preached Christianity in this region.
The church of monastery was built in several stages. The oldest part of the church is the narthex – the entrance part.
The Monastery was devastated and burned during the wars between Turks and Venetians.
After these wars, the monastery was renewed and the altar in a present-day form was built in the eight decade of the 18th century.
Standing in front of the monastery-entrance.
The belltower of this monastery was built in the Romanesque style.
The iconostasis was made of composite icons. Main icons are works of an unknown Venetio-Cretian artist; and the upper part of the iconostasis consists of icons brought from Russia during the 17th century.
The monastery has always been spiritual and educational centre of orthodox Dalmatian eparchy that is seated in Sibenik. Throughout its long history, this monastery gave many archibishops and sheperds of the Serbian Orthodox Church.
In 1615, Theodore Dabrobosnian Metropolitan, founded the first organized theological school in the Serbian Church.
Except the main church, there is a small chapel of St, Sava, which was built by Dalmatian Bishop Stefan Knežević. In 1890, Bishop Stefan died and he was buried in this chapel.
Besides that, monastery Krka has a very rich treasury and two libraries.
Also, in 2001 the reconstructed Semminary Holy Three Hierarchs, again started with its work.
The icons in the entrance part